C3 W8/9. Weeks 40/41.

I guess I haven’t done a very good job at keeping this old blog up to date. Oh well, it’s hard to do with work and everything. And by everything, well, I’ll get to that.

Two weeks ago I was at 220 even. Last week, I was down to 218.6 and this morning I’m down to 217. Last week was pretty brutal, I ended up getting hurt last Thursday and it lasted until Tuesday this week. It was mostly a short term thing, thankfully. A few years ago, I injured my lower back and it eventually healed itself. But I occasionally injure it again for a week or so at a time, it’ll be very painful to stand, walk, lay down, sit up straight and what-not. So I missed work outs Thursday, Friday, Sunday and Monday. Did upper body on Tuesday since that’s what I missed on Thursday, been keeping it going since then.

Everything. I haven’t really mentioned it here much, but the Pirates had a pretty incredible season the first four months this year. It culminated with a 5-0 one hitter in Chicago against the Cubs on July 31st and on August 8th, they were still 63-47, or 16 games over .500. It didn’t seem like they were about to collapse. Maybe come down to earth a little bit, but full on collapse? No. But since August 8th, they’ve been 13-34, the worst record in baseball. 11 days later they were still in it when they won a 19 inning game. They’ve gone 9-27 since then. I’ve waited 20 years for a winning season from this team and just when it looked like they would do it, they failed at it. But I have to say that I’ve done a good job not drinking beer after beer while watching it. Trying to forget about all the problems associated with the losing and stuff. Two years ago, I sat in my chair and drank beer after beer after beer. A lot of times I’d have a six pack a night. These days, beer is a once a week sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

